Friends of the Library, Boone County, Arkansas, Inc. Minutes of the 2007 Annual Meeting November 15, 2007

Friends of the Library conducted its Annual Meeting on Thursday, November 15, 2007, at the Boone County Library, Harrison, Arkansas. Sixteen Friends members were present: George Cline, President; Kathryn Crunkleton, Vice-president; Millie Mondahl, VP of the Holiday Book Sale; Mary Wright, VP Internet Sales; Chris Posterick, VP Daycare Reading & VP Newsletter Editor/Mailings; Shirley Copeland, Secretary; Beth Neel, Internet Mailing; Lena Boswell, Treasurer; Alice Smith, VP Courtesy Mailing; Janet McMurrin, VP Website and Laurie Wilson, VP Spring Book Sale. Also in attendance were; Malinda Brown, Fran Alexander, Barry Posterick, Carolyn Cline and LaVoyce Ewing, Boone County Library Director.

George Cline called the meeting to order at 5:30 pm. After review of the 2006 Annual Meeting Minutes, Chris Posterick moved that the minutes be accepted as read; Beth Neel seconded the motion; the motion was approved.

George Cline presented the 2007 Annual Report to the Membership. (see page 3)

Minutes of the October 10, 2007 meeting were reviewed. Mary Wright requested that "business expense requests be submitted for materials used for FOL purposes" replace "business expense requests be submitted for ink cartridges used for FOL purposes." Lena seconded the motion; motion was approved.

Lena Boswell presented the financial report for November 1, 2006 through October 31, 2007. The report shows income of \$19,805.66 (does not include CD interest income); expenses of \$16,770.11. Income includes \$12,630.92 from book sales; the expenses include support for the Boone County Library of \$10,248.92 and \$670.00 for Heritage Quest. Lena stated the Friends bank balances are \$40,500.00. Mary Wright moved that the financial report be accepted as read; Beth Neel seconded the motion; the motion was approved. A copy of the financial report is filed with the minutes.

Millie Mondahl reported plans for the Holiday Book Sale to be held December 8. Set-up for the sale is December 7 at 1 pm.

Kathryn Crunkleton, nominating committee chairman, presented the proposed slate of officers for 2008:

President: George Cline

Vice President: Kathryn Crunkleton; also VP Silent Auction and Trolley Sales

Secretary: Shirley Copeland Treasurer: Lena Boswell

VP Children's Sale: Amanda Baker

VP Daycare Reading & Newsletter Editor/Mailings: Chris Posterick VP Spring and Fall Book Sales: Malinda Brown and Laurie Wilson

VP Holiday Book Sale: Millie Mondahl VP Homebound Delivery: Roberta Beatty

VP Internet Sales: Mary Wright
VP Internet Mailing: Beth Neel
VP Courtesy Mailing: Alice Smith
VP Website: Janet McMurrin

Millie Mondahl moved that the proposed slate of officers be approved; Chris Posterick seconded the motion; the motion was approved.

LaVoyce Ewing, Boone County Librarian, stated that she and the Library Board invite the Friends Board members, the Book Sleuths, George's book moving crew and families to view the lighted Christmas parade from inside the library on December 1 at 5 pm. Refreshments will be served and LaVoyce requests that those who plan to attend notify the library staff before December 1.

George Cline stated no further business; Mary Wright moved to adjourn; Kathryn Crunkleton seconded, and with approval, the meeting was adjourned at 6 pm.

Minutes submitted by Shirley Copeland, Secretary